College Profile

Bird’s Eye-view of the Past and Present*………

The Catholic Christian community at Deva Matha Forane Church, Paisakary, under the Syro-Malabar Metropolitan Archdioceses of Thalassery, wanted an institution of higher learning for a long time for the higher education of its youth, and thus to bring about the all-round development of the region. Their long-cherished dream saw fruition under the able leadership of the then Vicar of Deva Matha Forane Church, Rev. Fr. John Mullakkara (2003-2005).

Deva Matha College, a self-financing venture and affiliated to the University of Kannur, started functioning from the Academic Year 2003–’04 in the ground floor of the now St. Thomas Block, under the visionary leadership of the Rev. Fr. John Mullakkara, the Founder-Manager. The College is situated on a hillock with a panoramic view as the site is encircled by the majestic mountain range which is part of the Western Ghats in the Payyavoor Panchayath, Kannur.

The College opened her portals to the rural youth, especially from the middle and lower strata of society with two Undergraduate Degree Programmes, one in Physics and another one in Chemistry. Prof. M. Rajan was appointed the first Principal. Thereafter, two more Bachelors Programmes (B. Com. in Computer Applications (2004) and B.A. in English Literature with Journalism (2005)) were added to the existing Courses of Study.

In 2005, Rev. Fr. Anthony Purayidam assumed the office of the Manger. It was due to his untiring efforts, the upper floors of the St. Thomas Block with the Auditorium was completed. Dr. P.V. Jayaprakash became the Principal in 2009. Under his watch B. Com with Co-operation (2009) and the Bachelors in Business Administration (2010) were made available.

Rev. Dr. Mani Attel became the Manger in 2010. His vast experience as the HoD of Malayalam and later as the Principal of the Nirmalagiri College, Koothuparamba, Kannur, run by the Archdiocese of Thalassery, enabled him to take the College to newer heights. Under his supervision, the construction of a new block, St. Alphonsa, began. During this period a modern out-door Basketball Court came up in the Campus with grants from the Sports Council of the Government of India.

In 2012, Rev. Dr. Thomas Melvettam was posted to Paisakary as the Vicar cum Manager. It was during his tenure, the Alphonsa Block was completed. Thereafter, the construction of a new administrative block, the Deva Matha Block, began. During this period, the College began to offer, for the first time, a Bachelors in Computer Applications, and two Post Graduate Programmes in Business Finance (M.Com) and English Literature (M.A.).

In 2016, Rev. Dr. Jose Vettickal moved in as the Manager. During his watch, two more Courses, namely, B.Com. in Finance and B.Sc. in Mathematics (2017) were added to the already existing Courses of Study. Dr. P.V. Jayaprakash retired in 2017 after 8 long years of distinguished service to the Institution, and Prof. Jose J. Edavoor, an electronics expert, was appointed the Principal.

Rev. Fr. Sebastian Palakuzhy assumed the mantle of the Manager at Deva Matha in May, 2018. Due to his singular initiatives, the College received the ISO Certification (ISO 9001-2015 Certified Institution of Higher Learning) in March, 2019. He also began a campus beautification programme. Dr. M J Mathew, a renowned educationalist and administrator, is expected to take charge of the College as the Principal, sometime in early July.

In collaboration with the Deva Matha Sports Academy, located in the Campus, the College co-sponsors district and state level Basketball and Volleyball tournaments. Besides, she had been the venue for the Varsity Sports in the past.

Since her inception, more than 2800 students have passed through her portals, and her alumni has been able to leave their mark on the state, national, and world stage. The College is a Catholic Christian Minority Institution managed by the Deva Matha Education Trust presided over by the Manager for the Deva Matha Forane Church, Paisakary. Currently, the College offers 8 Undergraduate Programmes and 2 Post Graduate Programmes, and has 637 students on her rolls, and a staff strength of 52, both Faculty and Support Staff.